The average American diet has been in the news a lot lately, from the recent research talking about possible correlation between HFCS laden food and obesity to the food fad nutjobbery that espouses weight loss with This One Secret They Don’t Want You To Know About! (yes thank you obnoxiously gyrating Flash ad) and all the craziness in between.  It can be so difficult to find reliable information as so many major news outlets, medical journals and celebrities seem to be putting out different, if not completely contradictory, information that can be so easy to take for truth.

One of the few things that I think everyone can agree on is that as with computer programming, Garbage In – Garbage Out. If you’re stuffing yourself full of fast food and super sugary drinks at every meal, is it really a surprise that you end up feeling terrible and sleeping badly? Now I’m not saying that we should all be vegans or raw food enthusiasts – trust me, I like a good blue steak as much as the next carnivorous dame – but I’ve come to the realization in the past year or so that there are some foods in particular that I just can’t eat without feeling like I got run over by an aircraft carrier.

Coincidentally its not only the rich, over-processed and sickeningly sweet foods that make my GERD rear its ugly head; ripe bananas, though delicious and full of wonderful nutrients and vitamins, make my stomach hurt like nobody’s business. Thankfully, I’ve adjusted my fruit eating habits and know to avoid the squishy delicious bananas and make up for their loss with other, equally tasty fruits and vegetables.

And it turns out that my Mom isn’t the only one who’ll be proud of me for eating my fruits and veggies, there is some evidence that diets high in fresh foods can lower risks for certain cancers, though as one of my favorite science bloggers points out it may not be as wildly effective as some studies have advertised. So as the scientific community continues to research the effects of our diet on our bodies and our futures, one thing is for sure – we all need to spend more time in the produce section.

